### 2025 Fish United

# **United Way of Washington County East**

# **Fundraising Fishing Tournament**

# **Tournament Rules**

#### Rules:

The United Way of Washington County East fishing tournament, a live catch and release tournament will be held May 31st, 2025, from 6:30 AM (CDT) to 2:00 PM (CDT) at Andersen Windows in Bayport Minnesota. All participants must comply with all Minnesota boating and fishing laws and regulations, as well as the following tournament rules:

## **Registration:**

- Online registration goes live Monday April 1<sup>st</sup>.
- Deadline for registration: Friday, May 30<sup>th</sup>.
- \$150 Entry Fee per boat must be paid by the conclusion of registration (no registration on Saturday).
- Ages 12 and under are free.
- No checks accepted on Tournament Day.
- One person in boat must be at least 18 years old.

## **Rules and Regulations Night Before:**

- Night before Tournament will be rules and regulations event.
- Time: 6:30 PM.
- Where: Bayport American Legion.
- One member per boat needs to be present.

# **Tournament Hours:**

• Saturday May 31st 6:30 AM-2:00 PM.

### **Tournament Rules:**

- All State and Local laws apply.
- Fishing Boundaries: St. Croix River from the High Bridge North of Stillwater to Prescott.
- Teams will leave the no wake bay of Andersen Point in numerical order.
- All live wells will be checked at departure.
- Measuring boards and photo documentation will take place to determine winners.

### Fish:

- A maximum of 5 fish can be weighed per person.
- All fish must be 13 inches or larger. (Not 12 and ¾)
- Questionable fish will be measured by the judge with proof of photo.

#### **Tournament Director:**

- Your tournament director is Kelly Stenerson. If you need to reach Kelly, her contact info is 651-439-3838, or via email at Kelly.Stenerson@uwwce.org
- The interpretation and enforcement of the rules is at the sole discretion of the director. The tournament director may change rules or impose sanctions as they deem appropriate, including but not limited to disqualifications, forfeiture of prizes, and prohibition from competing in future tournaments. All decisions made by the tournament from competing in future tournaments. All decisions made by the tournament director is final.

### Sportsmanship:

- All participants are expected to follow high standards of sportsmanship, courtesy, safety, and conservation.
- Any participants who display poor sportsmanship, violates these rules, or brings unfavorable publicity to the sport of fishing could be disqualified. Encroachment is considered a sportsmanship rule.
- All protests must be brought to the director's attention BEFORE the end of the event.
- Anyone caught breaking the law or disobeying the rules will be disqualified.
- Fish must be hooked and caught live in a conventional manner. Fish cannot be snagged, netted, speared, etc.

#### Tiebreakers:

All ties will be broken by determining the largest fish between the tying teams. If that is also a
tie it will go to the next fish and so on until the tie is broken. If all 5 fish were to be a match it
would go to the earliest time that the largest fish is caught from the start of the tournament.

#### **End of Day:**

- Scorecard collection begins at 2:00 PM in the Andersen Parking lot.
- Post celebration with award disbursement to take place following tournament hours.
- Any boats not within the no wake buoys at 2:00 PM will be disqualified.

#### **Laws and Regulations:**

- All federal, state and local laws and all fishing and boating rules apply.
- Failure to comply with any tournament rules subjects' participants to disqualification and removal from the competition, as determined by the tournament officials. The right to refuse sale and/ or revoke a competition ticket to anyone is hereby reserved.

#### Safety:

• Promoters, tournament directors, organizations and sponsors are not responsible for death, injury, damage, liability, theft, fire, or loss of any kind to participants in tournament activities.

Questions? If there are any questions about the rules, reach out to the tournament directors.